Last update: Thu 26 May 2022 00:02

Singles Report

Singles competition

There will be a new name on the Oxford Singles Trophy as the eight players that battled their way through to the Quarter finals have never won it before. Played at four different venues Kevin Stuart, John Baily (George ‘A’) Steve Walton (Donnington Club ‘A’) Andy Lewis (Ampleforth Arms ‘A’) Terry Stuart (The Swan ‘A’) Rob Bradford (Black Prince) Mark Rollins (The Woodman) and Willy Waite (Bullnose ‘A’) will all have to do it again on Monday 3rd September in the play offs.
At Garsington Sports Club twice runner up Steve Walton (Donnington Club ‘A’) had to rely on all his experience to get through to the play offs. He beat Keith Powell (Swan ‘A’ ) in the first round 5-4, 3-2. Ian Bowler from Littlemore British Legion was his next opponent and with the score nicely poised at 1-1 Bowler set 3 in the final leg, which was no problem for Walton as he whipped off the four dolls needed to go through to the next round.
In the next round Walton was up against the holder Jon Townsend from The Swan ‘A’ and it proved to be a humdinger of a game. Townsend set the opening leg with an impressive 5 however Walton stepped up and clanged off all six to take an early lead. Walton then set four in the next leg, which is normally enough to get you at least a draw, however Townsend had other ideas and hit five in reply to level the game. Final and deciding leg Townsend could only set three, however Walton could only hit the same to send it to three sticks. Townsend set two but Walton smashed off all three to send him through.
It started off easy for Kevin Stuart beating Pip Goulding (Tiddington Cricket Club) in the 1st round 2-0. Five times runner up Kevin Baker (Gladiators ‘A’) was hit next opponent who won the opening leg 5-2. Stuart levelled in the next leg with a set of 5. Stuart then set in the final leg with another five which was just enough to see him through as Baker fell one short with four in reply.
Stuart then saw of Richard Berry (Littlemore British Legion) 2-1 in the final game, 4-3, 1-1 (1-0 on three sticks) 3-2.

At The Ampleforth Arms, there was some top class throwing. Willy Waite had to battle all the way though his rounds. In the 1st round against Paul Townsend (Three Pigeons) Waite set 4 which Townsend matched. Waite winning the three sticks shootout 3-2. Waite then set four in the next leg however it was not enough as Townsend powered past with a score of 5 to level the game. Waite could only set 3 in the deciding leg which should not have been enough but Townsend struggled and only ended up with two in reply to send Waite into the next round. He was then pitted up against Billy Trinder (Garsington Sports) and beat him 2-0. His final match was against the inform Steve Ward (Six Bells ‘D’ Kidlington) Ward won the opener 3-2 with Waite levelling in the next with a set of 5 to Wards 4 in reply. Waite then set in the final leg with five, but Ward was not deterred and also hit five. Waite set 3 in the three stick shoot out which was enough to see him through.
Mark Rollins struggled in the 1st round against Brian Lester (The George). With the score at 1-1 Rollins could not beat a set of only one and had to rely on the three stick shoot out to go through. Rollins then had a comfortable win against James Morrison (George) 2-0. In the final round of the night Rollins was tied 1-1 with Pete Shepherd (Tiddington Cricket Club) and was set three. Rollins replied with four whipping the winning doll off with his final stick.

At The Chequers John Baily (George ‘A’) did not drop a leg in his quest for the title. He beat Neil Pratley from The Woodman 2-0 and then Jason Fox (Six Bells ‘D’) 2-0 although two of the legs he did have to rely on three stick shoot outs.
Rob Bradford had a more difficult task. He just got the better of Andy Gorge (Bullnose ‘A’) in the 1st round, beating him 2-1 with the final leg being decided on three sticks, 3-4, 4-3, 3-3.
Den Butler (Gladiators ‘A’) was his next opponent who pushed Bradford all the way. Butler lost the first leg on three sticks and the next 3-4.
Bradford last game was against Lee Thompson (Swan ‘A’) and the opening leg Bradford set four with Thompson matching. Bradford winning it 3-2 on three sticks. Thompson set and won the next leg 5-2. Final and deciding leg was tied 3-3 and once again the three sticks came to Bradford’s rescue as he won it 2-0.

Finally at the Masons Arms, unfancied Andy Lewis from The Ampleforth Arms threw well to get through. He beat Dave Lee (Three Pigeons) 2-1 in an early round (3-2, 3-4, 4-2) and then had a long battle against Spencer Buckingham (The Woodman). Nothing could separate them in the first leg as it was first tied 3-3, then 2-2 in the three sticks, and both blobbing out on the one stick shootout. Back to six sticks and Lewis won it 4-3. The next leg was tied 2-2 with Lewis winning it on three sticks 3-2.
2015 finalist Terry Stuart beat nephew Ashley Stuart in the first round 2-0 and then three times winner Neil Lyon (Three Pigeons) 2-0 in the next round 4-3, 4-3. The final game Stuart was drawn against Jason Weller (Gladiators ‘A’). With both players winning a leg each Stuart set and won the decider 4-2.

The unluckiest player of the night must have been Andy Beal (Gladiators ‘A’) who played in the only preliminary game of the night against Steve Ward (Six Bells ‘D’). Beal hit fourteen dolls (4-6-4) and still lost! Beal set 4 in the first leg. In reply Ward clanged off five with his first five sticks to go one up. Beal then set a maximum six in the next leg which was enough to level the match. Beal then set four in the final leg, and again Ward hit five in reply, the winning doll coming of his final stick.

A.Beal (Gladiators ‘A’) S.Walton (Donnington Club ‘A’) Li. Purcell (George ‘A’)

In the Ted Houghton Singles (Sections 4-8) Joe Bandrowski and Liam Costar both from The Masons Arms are in the final to be played on finals night Friday October 12th.
2016 winner Liam Costar beat Garry Rees (The Blackbird) 2-1 in his first game 1-5, 2-2 (1-0 on three sticks) 4-3. He was then drawn against another Blackbird player Mick Murphy who he also beat 2-0.
Bandrowski had an easy first round win against Dave Simms (The Blackbird) 2-0 and then just got the better of Steve Buckle from The Blackbird 2-0 in the leg scores of 3-2, 4-3.

    Back to reports page

    XHTML Transitional

    Website Hit Counters
    Web Counter