Last update: Mon 20 May 2019 16:06

Finals night Report

The 81st Oxford & District Aunt Sally Finals took place at a packed Cowley Workers Club which saw some good throwing and history being made.
In The Oxford Singles final Mark Rollins from The Woodman beat Kevin Stuart from The George ‘A’ in an exciting close final. Stuart set and won the first leg 4-3. Rollins replied with a bang in the second leg when he set 5, Stuart hitting 3 in reply to set up a tense final leg. Stuart won the toss and decided to set but could only muster up a score of 3. However Rollins struggled in reply and could only match it with his last stick. Stuart set in 2 the three stick shoot out and again Rollins matched it, with his last stick. Now it was down to one stick and Stuart decided to set but his stick was too strong and sailed over the doll. Up stepped Rollins to clang the doll off to win the Singles title for the first time.
Liam Costar from the Masons ‘B’ claimed the Ted Houghton singles title for the second time when he beat team mate Joe Bandrowski quite easily 2-0. After winning the first leg 2-1 Costar set 4 in the next leg which proved too strong for Bandrowski.
Ian & Steve Mcateer from The Black Prince made history when they became the first pair to win the Parent & Child and Pairs final in the same season. First up was a classic, the Parent & Child against Kevin & Ashley Stuart from The George ‘A’. The Mcateers set and won the opening leg 7-5. The Stuarts set the next leg with 7, which the McAteers matched. A good set of four by the Stuarts in the three stick shoot out secured them the second leg to tie the game. The final and deciding leg the Stuarts set a reasonable six. In reply Ian McAteer could only hit two. Dad Steve needing five to win, did just that clanging off the winning doll with his last stick.
Onto the Oxford Pairs and they were up against a formidable pair, the two top doll scorers in the Premier Section Neil Lyon and Paul Townsend from The Three Pigeons. Ian & Steve started off well winning the first leg 7-6. A four from Townsend and five from Lyon gave the Pigeons pair an impressive total of nine. In reply Ian McAteer whipped of all six to give them the perfect start, leaving Steve three to tie and four to win. However he struggled and could only hit two to send it to a final deciding leg. The McAteers decided to set in the final leg and hit nine, which was more than enough to give them the win and history being made.
Black Prince beat Garsington Sports Club ‘A’ to win the Greene King Cup in a low scoring final. The Prince could only muster up a measly thirteen in the opening leg, which Garsignton found no problem passing with two players to spare. Garsington set a low 19 in the next leg, and in reply Black Prince really struggled and just won the leg by the odd doll with 20. Prince then set the final and deciding leg with 23 and this time Garsington struggled in reply and fell well short to give the Prince their first Greene King Cup win.
The Swan ‘A’, four of Dick Walsh, Jon Townsend, Keith Powell, and Terry Stuart successfully retained the Monty Greenaway Fours Shield when they defeated The Woodman 2-0 in the leg scores of 14-11, 11-10.
The Blackbird beat a depleted Bullnose Morris team in the Oxford fours 2-0.
After two defeats in the Jim Whitbread Cup in the past four years Vikings Sports Club ‘D’ finally tasted victory when they beat Florence Park Club ‘B’ 2-0.
The Bullnose Morris pairing of Jamie Debanks and Jamie McMahon won the lower section pairs when they beat local rivals Garry Rees and Dave Simms from The Blackbird 2-0.

    Back to reports page

    XHTML Transitional

    Website Hit Counters
    Web Counter